Tehran, ‘Janbakhtegan’ Games, Photos

Courtesy: “znamoderator” znamoderator@yahoo.com   znamoderator

Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:42 pm (PDT)

The Zoroastrian Student Center (ZSC) released the number of Participants of
the 28th round of Janbakhtegan Cup (Jaam-e Jaanbaakhtegaan)

With the ending of registration for the 28th Round of Janbakhtegan Cup
(Iran-Iraq War’s Zoroastrian Martyrs) , the ZSC has announced the numbers of participants to be about 600.

Each year Jam-e Janbakhtegan is organized by ZSC. This
year almost 600 participants have registered in different fields like;
Footabll, Basketball and Volleyball, Solo Sports (swimming, ping
pong, badminton, cycling, chest, and dart) and decathlon sports.
According to ZSC, there are 5 teams of Adolescents, 4 teams
of children and 4 teams of Adults.

In the volleyball matches, there are three (male) adult teams and 7
female teams and for basketball, there will be 6 adult teams.

In Ping Pong(table tennis) groups, there are 7 females, 19 male adults, 26 male
adolescents and in Chest game there are 31 adolescents and 7 adults.

The numbers of participants in Badminton for this year is the same
as last year. There are 12 male adults, 5 female adults, 24 male
adolescents and 9 female children.

Swimming teams cosists of :

9 childrens, 7 adolescents, 6 adults in Free Style team.

In cycling:

7 male, 12 female cyclists (speed cycling) and 3 male cyclist for
stamina cycling.

For Running, there are 15 Participants for the Stamina running.

Janbakhtegan Games is one of the most important events of the year for Zoroastrian community in Iran. It is organized each year on the first 15 days of Amordad organized each year at Markar Sport and Culture Center situated in Tehranpars.

This year Janbakhtegan Games started on 28th July and shall conclude on 1st August 2008.

Our dear fellow Zarathushtis who lost their lives defending our motherland during Iran-Iraq war are;
Rotsam Azarbad, Mehrdad Fararooni, Kaykhosrov Kaykhosravi, Esfandiar Darabian, Feraydoon Nejad Kay, Parviz Abadi, Jamshid Goshtasbi, Ardeshir Moradian, Jahanbakhsh Namiranian, Behrooz Bastani, Farhad Khadem, Kamran Ganji, Dayhim Shahriari, Daryoush Abadian, Mehrdad Abadian and Daryoush Shahzadi

Source: Amordad Blog

See the photos of opening ceremony:



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.