Five presidents celebrate Persian New Year in Tehran

Five presidents celebrate Persian New Year in Tehran

The Persian New Year (Noruz) festivities were held in Sadabad Palace in Tehran on Saturday with participation of the presidents of Iran, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Iraq, and Turkmenistan.

Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad along with his Iraqi counterpart Jalal Talebani, Afghan President Hamid Karzai, Tajik President Emomali Rahmon, and Turkmen President Kurbanguly Berdymukhamed attended the event convened for the first time as the United Nations recognized Noruz as an international day on February 23, 2010.

Several foreign ministers and high-ranking officials from ten countries are also guest to the celebrations.

A similar ceremony will be held in the ancient city of Shiraz on Sunday where they will tour the mausoleums of Saadi and Hafiz – the two great Persian poets – and the Persepolis (Takht-e Jamshid or Chehel Minar).

Noruz is celebrated by 300 million people. In addition to Iran, it is celebrated in the two Persian-speaking countries of Tajikistan and Afghanistan as well as Turkmenistan and the Republic of Azerbaijan. It is also celebrated by Kurdish populations in Iraq and Turkey and other regional countries.

President Ahmadinejad told the ceremony that Noruz is an “inseparable part of our common culture”.

Courtesy : Pervez Jussawalla

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.