Naorooz Timings – 2017


Abu Dhabi (+4) Monday March 20, 2017, 02:28:40 PM Istanbul (+2) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM
Adelaide (+10) Monday March 20, 2017, 08:28:40 PM Jakarta (+7) Monday March 20, 2017, 05:28:40 PM
Amsterdam (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM Jerusalem (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM
Anchorage (-9) Monday March 20, 2017, 02:28:40 AM* Kabul (+4:30) Monday March 20, 2017, 02:58:40 PM
Ankara (+2) Monday March 20, 2017, 12:28:40 PM Kuala Lumpur (+8) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 PM
Ashgabat (+5) Monday March 20, 2017, 03:28:40 PM Kashgar (+8) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 PM
Athens (+2) Monday March 20, 2017, 12:28:40 PM Lima (-5) Monday March 20, 2017, 05:28:40 AM
Atlanta (-5) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 AM* Lisbon (+0) Monday March 20, 2017, 12:28:40 AM
Auckland (+13) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 PM Madrid (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM
Baghdad (+3) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:28:40 PM Mashhad /Iran (+3:30) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:58:40 PM**
Baku (+4) Monday March 20, 2017, 02:28:40 PM Melbourne (+11) Monday March 20, 2017, 09:28:40 PM
Bangkok (+7) Monday March 20, 2017, 05:28:40 PM Mexico City (-6) Monday March 20, 2017, 04:28:40 AM
Barcelona (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM Montreal (-5) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 AM*
Beijing (+8) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 PM Moscow (+3) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:28:40 PM
Beirut (+2) Monday March 20, 2017, 12:28:40 PM New Delhi (+5:30) Monday March 20, 2017, 03:58:40 PM
Berlin (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM Nairobi (+3) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:28:40 PM
Bishkek (+6) Monday March 20, 2017, 04:28:40 PM Oslo (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM
Calgary (-7) Monday March 20, 2017, 04:28:40 AM* Ottawa (-5) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 AM*
Chicago (-6) Monday March 20, 2017, 05:28:40 AM* Rio de Janeiro (-3) Monday March 20, 2017, 07:28:40 PM
Copenhagen (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM Rome(+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM
Denver (-7) Monday March 20, 2017, 04:28:40 AM* Riyadh (+3) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:28:40 PM
Dubai (+4) Monday March 20, 2017, 02:28:40 PM Samarqand (+5) Monday March 20, 2017, 03:28:40 PM
Dushanbe (+5) Monday March 20, 2017, 03:28:40 PM Singapore (+8) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 PM
Frankfurt (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM Sydney (+11) Monday March 20, 2017, 09:28:40 PM
Geneva (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM Tabriz /Iran (+3:30) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:58:40 PM**
Halifax (-4) Monday March 20, 2017, 07:28:40 AM* Tehran /Iran (+3:30) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:58:40 PM**
Havana (-5) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 AM Tokyo (+9) Monday March 20, 2017, 07:28:40 PM
Helsinki(+2) Monday March 20, 2017, 12:28:40 PM Toronto (-5) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 AM*
Hawaii (-10) Monday March 20, 2017, 12:28:40 AM Vancouver (-8) Monday March 20, 2017, 03:28:40 AM*
Isfahan /Iran (+3:30) Monday March 20, 2017, 01:58:40 PM** Washington DC (-5) Monday March 20, 2017, 06:28:40 AM*
Islamabad (+5) Monday March 20, 2017, 03:28:40 PM Zagreb (+1) Monday March 20, 2017, 11:28:40 AM

 

Please also check https://zoroastrians.net/2010/03/11/navroze-times-till-2049/

Advertisements

“BUILDING A WALL”


BUILDING A WALL”

It ain’t an

“Original Idea”

It was already

“Virtually erected”
By the Bigots of

Of Asho Zarathushtra

When we landed on the

Shores of India

 

I wonder how it would feel

If some  of you were denied entry

On the basis of  religion

For that matter Race

What would be the

Biggest hurdle one

Would have to face?

So quit the mockery

Stop hijacking

Preach the Religion

Stop playing Russian Roulette

Preach the Religion

The way it is

Meant to be preachd

‘Cause very soon

The Law of No Entry

Is almost within Reach

 

One can never

Fortell the future

Or what “goodies”

It’s going to bring

So, Would you rather
Bring Down the Wall

Unite the Community

Live in peace & harmony

Or left hanging between

The devil & the deep sea

Choicest Happiness

Farida Bamji

Jan 28th 2017

Mahindra Rise Scholarships


kc-mahindra-logoK.C. MAHINDRA SCHOLARSHIPS FOR POST-GRADUATE STUDIES ABROAD
The Trustees of K. C. Mahindra Education Trust are pleased to announce the 2017 interest-free loan scholarships for post-graduate studies abroad.

The maximum amount for the scholarships will be Rs. 4 lakhs per scholar, except for the 3 K. C. Mahindra Fellow Scholarships for which the maximum amount will be 8 lakhs per scholar.
Eligibility Criteria

• Applicants must possess a First Class degree or any equivalent diploma of similar standard from a recognised Indian University

• Applicants must have secured admission or have applied for. admission in reputable foreign universities for courses commencing from August 2017, but not later than February 2018.

Application forms are available at:

• K.C. Mahindra Education Trust, Cecil Court, 3rd floor, near Regal Cinema, Mahakavi Bhushan Marg, Mumbai -400001

www.kcmet.org/what-we-do-Scholarship-Grants.aspx
Completed application forms, along with necessary enclosures, must reach the Trust office before 31″ March, 2017. The final interview of shortlisted candidates will take place in July, 2017.
To know more, please visit www.kcmet.org

How well do you know Parsi cuisine?


We all know how the lovely Parsi community came to the Indian subcontinent, but we seldom adore the culinary offerings of their underrated cuisine. With influences from Azerbaijani, Kurdish and Turkish cuisines, it’s intriguing how such a huge chunk stays unexplored.

Chicken Farcha@Sodabottle Openerwala, New Delhi

chicken-farcha-4
Chicken Farcha

Move over fried chicken; Farcha is here. Fried food is relished in every cuisine, especially this one. Chicken Farcha is a delicious Parsi counterpart of the fried chicken we come across in fast food chains.

Dhansak@Dorabjee &Sons, Pune

chicken-dhansak-3

Chicken Dhansak

Arguably most popular Parsi dish, it’s a typical Sunday lunch dish. Dhansak is a three lentil curry made with chicken or mutton and a secret spice mix. Polish it off with a plateful of brown rice.

Bheeda Par Eedu@Rustom’s Parsi Bhonu, New Delhi
A dish that brings vegetable and eggs together is sure to be healthy. Bheeda par eedu literally means eggs on okra. Sautéed okra in spices are topped with eggs. Yummy and tiny, it’s a great breakfast dish and doubles up for a yummy snack too!

Berry Pulao@Brittania & Co., Mumbai

img_5383

Berry Pulao

Berries in a pulao? Even though that may sound unconventional Berry Pulao at Brittania & Co., a true blue Persian dish is adapted to appeal to the Indian palate. This rice, berry and meat ensemble is flavourful yet subtle.

Lagan nu Bhonu@Jimmy Boy, Mumbai
If you get invited to a Parsi wedding or ceremony, you’re in for a yummy delight. Lagan nu bhonu literally translates to food at the wedding. This three or four course meal is replete with flavour and often served on a banana leaf.

Saas ni Machi@Jimmy Boy, Mumbai
A dish meant for celebrations, jashn and ceremonies, it’s also a part of lagan nu bhonu. This Parsi wedding favourite is fish cooked in a white sweet and sour curry emulsion. Saas ni machi is a dense dish often served with poppadoms or khichri.

Jardaloo Salli Murghi@Rustom’s Parsi Bhonu, New Delhi

sali-boti2-3-1

Jardaloo Salli Boti

A thick spicy gravy with a sweet note to it is what Jardaloo Salli Murghi is. Dried apricots gives this curry the sweet taste that balance the spices and robust consistency. The potato shreds (Salli) used give it a much needed crunch.

Kolmi no Patio@Soda Bottle Openerwala, New Delhi
Another under rated dish from the cuisine is Kolmi no Patio. Shrimps in thick and spicy tomato gravy are a tangy delight to pair with your brown rice.

Patra ni Machi@Rustom’s Parsi Bhonu, New Delhi

patra-ni-machchi2-2

A wedding favourite, it loosely translates to fish in a leaf. This dish has fish marinated in mild spice mix and wrapped in a banana leaf, and steamed. Healthy and delicious, Patra ni Machi is a delicacy.

Akoori@Kyani & Co., Mumbai

akuri-at-cafe-irani-chaii-photo-credits-cryselle-dsouza

Akuri

Eggs have a special place in this cuisine. After Salli par eedu and a few other dishes, Akuri is a breakfast favourite. It’s the Parsi counter part of the scrambled eggs. Almost runny but not undercooked, eggs are made to perfection and served with bread.

Photo Credits: Cryselle D’souza

Images for representational purposes only.

About the Author

Food is my favourite F-word! Master in Eatmylogy. Future food entrepreneur. Antevasin. Spaghettivore. Hates the casual use of the word ‘foodie’ and loves a well-cooked meal, snowflakes and the mountains! Follow on Instagram: @lifewithapinchofsalt

Live a Legacy to Leave a Legacy


18th January, 2017
Workshop : Live a Legacy to Leave a Legacy
Dear Members,

The World Zarathushti Chamber of Commerce (WZCC) provides its members, among many other services, an opportunity to learn how to contribute back to the Society. This Workshop guides a person to ensure leading a meaningful life and at the same time leave a legacy for future generations. Every human being has an immense latent potential and is genetically engineered for success. However, for the potential to be realized, one needs a definite goal or purpose. As of today, a large majority of us lack a definite purpose in life.

A “Legacy” provides a definite purpose in life, keeping us on a steady path through the ups and downs of life. Hence this goal setting strategy is a must for individuals seeking to leave their mark in this world. This workshop will be conducted by the CEO of Pinnacle Process Solutions, Intl, LLC, USA, Mr. Adil Dalal, and an award winning author of the well known book “A Legacy Driven Life: Live a Legacy to Leave a Legacy”. He is an accomplished Executive Coach, a distinguished Keynote Speaker and the recipient of the 2014 Global Award for Outstanding Contribution to Quality and Leadership by the World Quality Congress. Adil Dalal
He is also the recipient of the ASQ Crosby Medal- 2014, Shingo Research and Publication Award and the Axiom Business Book Award. His mission is to enhance the value of human potential and optimize the performance of leaders, individuals and organizations.

Other details are as under: –

Date Saturday, February 18, 2017
Venue Kilachand Conference Room, IMC Chamber of Commerce & Industry, IMC Building, IMC Marg, Churchgate, Mumbai 400 020.
Registration 1:30p.m.
Timing 2:00p.m. to 6:00p.m. (includes tea/coffee/snacks break)
The participation fees for this Workshop will be Rs.500 for members and Rs.750/- for non-members. The charges include tea/coffee/snacks.

Those attending the program are required to fill in the attached form and submit it to WZCC Office at the above mentioned address along with the payment. The participants are requested to confirm their attendance with Ms Zarine Khan on Tel. Nos. 23532522 / 9619165444 or our email id – wzccindia@on-lyne.com. The number of participants is limited to only 20 persons and will be selected on “first come first serve basis”.

Looking forward to your active participation.

Best Wishes,

Adi B. Siganporia
Chairman – Mumbai Chapter

KEEPING INDIA’S TRADITIONS ALIVE – MEET ZENOBIA


zenobia-092-a

Zenobia runs a fashion boutique called ZS Embroidery which specialises in hand-stitched embroidery. She is recognised across India as an expert in her craft and is proud to keep the beautiful tradition of hand-made embroidery alive.

Zenobia was first introduced to traditional hand stitching at school. Unlike most children her age, she was inspired by the intricate designs and was eager to practice at home. However, it wasn’t until many years and two children later that Zenobia was encouraged by her mother-in-law to leave her job as a secretary and pursue her dream of studying fashion and garment manufacturing. She graduated at the top of her class and was thrilled to start her business as a fashion designer.

Zenobia worked from home for 12 years, balancing her career with raising her children. She knew that she was capable of creating beautiful, high-quality products, such as dresses, wall hangings and cushion covers, but without the knowledge and skills to harness technology, she struggled to market her business and expand her customer base.

When Zenobia joined the Mentoring Women in Business Programme in 2014, her goal was to build her digital literacy and marketing skills to help her advertise more widely, enter new markets and increase her sales. Zenobia was matched with Ximena, an entrepreneur who runs a digital agency in Mexico. The pair met online every week and Ximena’s expertise in digital design enabled her to support Zenobia to access resources and tutorials on everything from setting up a webpage to uploading pictures. She even inspired Zenobia to take courses to improve her IT knowledge and start using Photoshop.

Zenobia and Ximena next turned their focus to expanding Zenobia’s customer base. They added a payment function to her website to open up her business to the global market and started diversifying her products to include homeware and embroidered frames. Zenobia said, “Initially, I was scared of computers and latest technology, but I have learnt how to make as well as manage my own website through the tutorials sent by Ximena. It has built my self-confidence and made me digital savvy.”

Since joining the programme, Zenobia’s business has seen significant growth. She has gained eight new clients, nearly 2,800 Facebook likes, and has started successfully selling products in the US, Europe, the Middle East, Australia and New Zealand. She has also increased her revenue by 40% and already has several months’ worth of advance orders, which has enabled her to rent out a workshop and hire six new employees.

Over the course of the year, Ximena and Zenobia developed such a strong bond that they chose to complete a second year together. Zenobia said, “She is a friend, philosopher and guide to me. It’s more than a mentoring relationship, it’s more like family.” Likewise, Ximena said she is proud of Zenobia and delighted to have made a life-long friend.

Feeling confident about her skills and her business, Zenobia has started to teach high-end embroidery to others and one day dreams of opening an art and design institute where she can share her passion even more widely. In the meantime, she has now joined the programme as a mentor, keen to inspire other women entrepreneurs to achieve their dreams.

To find out more about Zenobia’s business, please visit: http://www.zenobiadavar.com/